Friday, 17 June 2011

Mark Valentine

Mark Valentine
Tartarus Press has received encouragement and support from many people over the years, but we probably owe the biggest debt of thanks to Mark Valentine. Not only has he suggested many books for publication to us, and has written Introductions for a number of these, but for several years he has edited our journal, Wormwood. We’ve been pleased to publish his highly-regarded tales of the Connoisseur, and recently his biography of Sarban, Time, A Falconer.
This latest volume has received well-deserved praise from some impressive sources:

"It is somewhat unsettling to imagine this quiet man sorting out visa applications or attending dull formal receptions and all the while brooding on the taloned cat-women." Robert Irwin, The Literary Review

"Insightful... [Valentine] illuminates his study of Sarban's fiction with observations gleaned from the author's private diaries and correspondence, and offers particularly cogent insights on how the women in Sarban's life shaped the mystique of female characters in his fiction." - Publishers Weekly

"A sensitive and sympathetic portrait … [Valentine] weaves his analyses of Sarban’s fiction seamlessly into the broader tapestry spun from the known biographical facts. The result is a thoroughly engrossing account of the writer’s intellectual growth and interests in the course of his lifetime." Stefan Dziemianowicz, Locus, June 2011

Bibliography of Contributions to Tartarus Press
by Mark Valentine:

Time, A Falconer, by Mark Valentine
In Violet Veils, 1999
Masques and Citadels, 2003


The Hill of Dreams by Arthur Machen, 1998 and 2006
The Doll Maker by Sarban, 1999
The Green Round by Arthur Machen, 2000
The Lost Stradivarius by John Meade Falkner, 2000
Wormwood, issues 1-16
Various Temptations by William Sansom, 2002
The Suicide Club by Robert Louis Stevenson, 2004
Father Raven by A.E. Coppard, 2006
Strangers and Pilgrims by Walter de la Mare, 2007
Sredni Vashtar by Saki, 2008
The Discovery of Heretics by Sarban, 2011
Powers of Darkness by Robert Aickman, 2011

(Aklo, 1998)
Wormwood, issues 1-16

1 comment:

  1. I have greatly enjoyed everything I've read by Mark. I hope your association with him will continue for many years to come.